Social Justice Standards

Social Justice Standards: The Teaching Tolerance Anti-bias Framework is a set of 20 anchor standards and 80 grade-level outcomes organized into four domains—Identity, Diversity, Justice and Action—that reflect the desired impact of successful anti-bias and multicultural education on student personal and social development. The standards provide a common language and organizational structure. Teachers can use them to guide curriculum development, and administrators can use them to make schools more just, equitable and safe. 

The four unique anti-bias perspectives and the standards that accompany them are labeled throughout the meaningful and complex texts found in our Perspectives text library. Teachers and students are able to further develop their understanding of these standards through examination of the examples highlighted in the texts.

The following professional development modules are aimed to help teachers understand the standards and identify how to use them to engage students in a range of anti-bias, multicultural and social justice issues. 

Four Professional Development Modules

Social Justice Standards: Unpacking Identity
Understand the five Identity anchor standards, and relate how identity has many characteristics and affects relationships within the school building and the classroom.

Social Justice Standards: Unpacking Diversity
Develop respectful ways to discuss similarities and differences with others through the five Diversity anchor standards, and begin to think about how diversity affects relationships within the school building and the classroom.

Social Justice Standards: Understanding Justice
Understand the difference between personal stereotypes and systemic discrimination, and explore how privilege impacts discrimination and justice, and understand the five Justice anchor standards.

Social Justice Standards: Unpacking Action
Understand the five Action anchor standards and how they can be used to move students from prejudice reduction to collective action.

Abolitionists William Still, Sojourner Truth, William Loyd Garrison, unidentified male and female slaves, and Black Union soldiers in front of American flag

Applications Are Now Live for LFJ Teaching Hard History Fall 2022 Cohorts

Teaching Hard History Professional Learning Cohorts provide educators the chance to deeply engage with Learning for Justice Teaching Hard History: American Slavery framework, collaborate with LFJ staff and 25 other cohort members across the country, and gain insights and feedback on implementation—all at no cost. Submit your application today!

Learn More